ARTICLE VI. ORGANIZATION OF THE GOVERNMENT

A. Purpose, Fundamental Rights

We, the Little Traverse Bay Bands of Odawa Indians, speak through this document to assert that we are a distinct nation of Anishinaabek of North America that possess the right to: self-determination; freely determine our political status; freely pursue our economic, social, religious and cultural development, and determine our membership, without external interference. These same rights and principles the Little Traverse Bay Bands of Odawa Indians acknowledge to be inherent among other peoples, nations and governments throughout the world. We recognize their sovereignty and pledge to maintain relations with those peoples, nations and governments who acknowledge those same fundamental human rights and principles, and who recognize the sovereignty of the Little Traverse Bay Bands of Odawa Indians.

B. Branches of Government

The government of the Little Traverse Bay Bands of Odawa Indians shall be composed of three (3) branches: Tribal Council (Legislative), Tribal Chairperson (Executive), and Tribal Court (Judicial).

C. Delegation of Authority

The Tribal membership, through this document, authorizes: the Tribal Council to be the Legislative body and to make laws and appropriate funds in accordance with Article VII; the Executive Branch to administer such funds, enforce this Constitution and laws passed thereunder, and implement policies and procedures enacted by the Tribal Council in accordance with Article VIII; and the Judicial Branch to interpret this Tribal Constitution and to apply the laws of the Little Traverse Bay Bands of Odawa Indians in accordance with Article IX.

D. Separation of Functions

No branch of the government shall exercise the powers, duties or functions delegated to another branch.

E. Supremacy Clause

This Constitution shall be the supreme law over all territory and persons subject to the jurisdiction of the Little Traverse Bay Bands of Odawa Indians.